"Every song talks about who I am as a person right now."

In honor of her new album Platinum, which hits stores Tuesday (June 3), Miranda Lambert is our Impact artist this week.

Platinum is Lambert’s fifth studio album. And if you want to get to know more about the Texas country artist and reigning ACM Female Vocalist of the Year, Platinum is a good place to start. 

“Every song talks about who I am as a person right now in my life,” Lambert told Radio.com. “It’s kind of a lifestyle album.”

The 16-track collection is easily among the year’s most highly anticipated releases. Lead single “Automatic,” for instance, proved to be a hit with fans as soon as it was released.

Written by Lambert along with Nicolle Galyon and Natalie Hemby, “Automatic” is built around a gentle melody and lyrics that pine for simpler times, before technology took over our lives.

“It’s about slowing down, taking a breath and remembering what it’s like to live life a little more simply,” Lambert said in a statement. “The song brings back good memories and it reminds me to take a deep breath and to remember that getting there is half the fun.”

If “Automatic” represents a slowing down, then other songs on Platinum show different sides of Lambert’s life. Take, for instance, songs like “Smokin’ and Drinkin’” (featuring Little Big Town), “Hard Staying Sober” and “Something Bad,” her duet with Carrie Underwood.

The latter is a story song that starts with a bride-to-be grabbing her stash of cash from under her mattress and heading to a local bar instead of the church. “Got a real good feelin’ something bad is about to happen,” Lambert sings.

With so few female superstars in country music right now, and with Lambert having earned a place as one of the genre’s premiere voices, did Platinum wind up being a very female-focused album?

“It is, it’s female,” Lambert admitted to Radio.com. She includes songs by such writers as Ashley MonroeBrandy Clark and Jessi Alexander, for instance, and some of the album’s tracks (such as “Girls,” “Bathroom Sink” and “Gravity Is a B**ch”) will likely resonate strongly with female listeners.

At the same time, though, Lambert was clear that that’s not what defines the album. The list of songwriters on Platinum includes as many men as women, and most of the songs appeal to both genres.

“It has something for everybody on it,” Lambert said. “There are songs that everybody can relate to, hopefully. It has some humor, it has some sad, it has grit, it has some feminine. There’s a little bit of everything.”

Related: Miranda Lambert announces Platinum Tour

Lambert said she actually didn’t have any theme or specific set of subject matter in mind for the album.

“I didn’t go into it with a certain vision,” she explained to Radio.com. “I just wanted the best songs. I had been writing songs and looking for songs for it for a long time. So when I went in the studio I just knew that I had to step it up a notch.”

Platinum track list:

01. “Girls”
02. “Platinum”
03. “Little Red Wagon”
04. “Smokin’ and Drinkin’” (feat. Little Big Town)
05. “Priscilla”
06. “Automatic”
07. “Bathroom Sink”
08. “Old Sh!t”
09. “All That’s Left” (feat. the Time Jumpers)
10. “Gravity Is a B**ch”
11. “Babies Makin’ Babies”
12. “Somethin’ Bad” (feat. Carrie Underwood)
13. “Holding On to You”
14. “Two Rings Shy”
15. “Hard Staying Sober”
16. “Another Sunday in the South”

miranda lambert platinum album cover(Courtesy Mirandalambert.com)

More From BUZ'N @ 102.9

Get The App
Vote Your Top Songs!

Listen Live