Jennifer Nettles

Jennifer Nettles (Michael Loccisano/Getty Images)

Sugarland singer Jennifer Nettles announced last week that her much-anticipated solo album will be titled That Girl and will hit stores in January. Today she revealed the cover art and a full track list (see below).

That Girl is the first solo album from Nettles, who fronts country duo Sugarland alongside Kristian Bush (who’s working on some solo material of his own these days). The album’s producer is Rick Rubin (Johnny Cash, Beastie Boys, Slayer), and as previously reported, it contains songs Nettles cowrote with such songwriters as Butch Walker and Richard Marx.

The newly revealed track listing now shows she wrote songs with a wide range of writers, among them Sara Bareilles and Phillip Sweet (the latter of country foursome Little Big Town).

Jennifer Nettles with Phillip Sweet Jennifer Nettles with Phillip Sweet (Rick Diamond/Getty Images for Spotify)

The final track on the album is a cover of “Like a Rock” by Bob Seger–a song that Rubin allegedly suggested that Nettles cover.

The album’s title track was released earlier this summer and is rising on the country charts. As she explained to, Walker “brought the idea [for the song] over,” and as they were putting it together, something clicked. “I looked at him [Butch] and said, ‘This should really be called “The Ballad of Jolene” in parentheses,’” referring to the classic Dolly Parton song “Jolene.” Parton’s classic is about a woman pleading to another–whose name is Jolene, and whom the narrator sees as glamorous and alluring–to not steal her man away from her.

The album cover artwork was revealed today on Nettles’ Facebook page.

That Girl track listing:

“Falling” (Written by Jennifer Nettles)
“Me Without You” (Written by Jennifer Nettles, Tim Owens and Derek George)
“Moneyball” (Written by Jennifer Nettles and Scott Patton)
“That Girl” (Written by Jennifer Nettles and Butch Walker )
“This Angel” (Written by Jennifer Nettles and Mike Reid)
“Jealousy” (Written by Jennifer Nettles and Kevin Griffin)
“This One’s For You” (Written by Jennifer Nettles and Sara Bareilles)
“Know You Wanna Know” (Written by Jennifer Nettles and Richard Marx)
“Thank You” (Written by Jennifer Nettles and Phillip Sweet)
“Good Time To Cry” (Written by Jennifer Nettles and Mike Reid)
“Like A Rock” (Written by Bob Seger)

That Girl is set for release on Jan. 14, 2014.

Read more about Jennifer Nettles on

More From BUZ'N @ 102.9

Get The App
Vote Your Top Songs!

Listen Live