That didn’t take long. After Lady Antebellum released “Downtown” in late January, the song has now reached 500,000 downloads and topped the country singles charts. It’s the groups’s fastest-rising Number One single to date.

Part of the song’s immediate and widespread appeal had to do with the funky arrangement and sassy vocals of bandmember Hillary Scott–both of which are departures from the group’s previous hits such as “Need You Now,” “American Honey,” and “We Owned the Night.”

“Most of what the world has seen from Hillary from a radio single standpoint is this very sweet kind of style like ‘American Honey,’” Lady A’s Charles Kelley said in a statement on the group’s website. “But, she’s got a lot of sass and a lot of grit to her voice, too, so it’s been really fun to bring that out of her and have this kind of support from our fans and radio.”

Photo gallery: Lady Antebellum at Country Thunder

Hillary may be the voice out front on “Downtown,” but as she and bandmate Charles Kelley explained during an interview backstage at Country Thunder Arizona with KMLE this past weekend, a good chunk of credit also belongs to the third member of the Lady A triumvirate, Dave Haywood.

He may not be out front as much during their live shows as lead vocalists Hillary and Charles, but as Charles explained, Dave is “definitely the music” behind the group. Speaking of their upcoming album Golden, Charles said that “in the studio, he and our producer Paul Worley are spearheading most of the project. And we [he and Hillary] get to breeze in and out throughout the process. He definitely is the most talented out of us, I’d have to say.”

Also, notes Hillary, “He is a really good tennis player.”

Photo gallery: Lady Antebellum at Country Thunder

“Downtown” is the first single from Lady Antebellum’s fourth studio album Golden, which is due in stores May 7.

Golden Track List:

1. Get To Me
2. Goodbye Town
3. Nothin’ Like The First Time
4. Downtown
5. Better Off Now (That You’re Gone)
6. It Ain’t Pretty
7. Can’t Stand The Rain
8. Golden
9. Long Teenage Goodbye
10. All For Love
11. Better Man
12. Generation Away


More From BUZ'N @ 102.9

Get The App
Vote Your Top Songs!

Listen Live