In celebration of the brand-new album Just Feels GoodThompson Square is our Launch artist this week.

The sophomore album from country partners (and real-life married couple) Shawna and Keifer Thompson, Just Feels Good landed in stores and digital outlets this week.

As Shawna Thompson tells, Just Feels Good is “an upgraded version” of their debut album. “It’s probably more ‘us,’ if that’s possible.” For these songs, she says, they “dug deep,” and the results are that the songs are “real life–our life from when we met, on up to my dad’s passing [in 2012].”

Fans are likely already familiar with at least one song from the album, “If I Didn’t Have You,” which has been steadily climbing the country charts for weeks.

The song “came from a very special place,” Shawna explains in behind-the-scenes video about “If I Didn’t Have You.” Her father, she says, had just passed away “maybe a month before we wrote this song.” And another of the song’s writers, Paul Jenkins, also lost his grandfather. The title, she explains, came out of conversations the two of them had had about how special those men had been in their lives.

But as Keifer also explains, “one really cool thing we discovered after the fact is that the song could be about God, or your friends or family, anybody or anything that helps you get over a difficult situation.”

The title track “Just Feels Good” reflects, among other things, their feelings about their career at this point.

“Everyone knows in this business, as fickle as it is, you never know how long you’re going to be around,” explains Keifer. So, he says, “it certainly feels good to have had the success that we had on the first album. It feels good to be able to say we have a second album coming out. It feels good, the single is doing so well. It feels good, we’re on the Luke Bryan tour this year. Everything about our career and what’s going on in our life, it does ‘just feel good.'”

Keifer and Shawna also felt it was important to let their fans know how much their support has meant to them. “The fans have been everything to us the past 2-1/2 years,” says Keifer. So “a couple of the songs were deliberately written “to thank the fans.”

Just Feels Good track list:

1. Everything I Shouldn’t Be Thinking About
2. Here We Go Again
3. You Don’t Get Lucky
4. That’s So Me And You
5. I Can’t Outrun You
6. Testing The Water
7. For The Life Of Me
8. If I Didn’t Have You
9. Here’s To Being Here
10. Just Feels Good
11. Maybe It’s You
12. Run
13. Home Is You

Thompson Square

Courtesy Stoney Creek Records

Thompson Square’s new album Just Feels Good is available now on iTunes.

More From BUZ'N @ 102.9

Get The App
Vote Your Top Songs!

Listen Live