Think you know everything there is to know about the Zac Brown Band? Try out these fast facts, and let us know if you have any inside knowledge of these country stars!

1: Georgia on a fast train

The Zac Brown Band got their start in Georgia in 2002, hitting the road as often as possible and in front of anyone who would listen.

2: “Chicken Fried”

The band’s debut single, “Chicken Fried,” was originally recorded in 2003, but didn’t hit big in country music until it was re-recorded and released in 2008.

3: Clay Cook

Clay Cook was the last member to join the Zac Brown Band in 2008, thus completing the current line-up of the band.

4: ACM award winners

In 2011, the Zac Brown Band was nominated for five ACM Awards and won one, Top Vocal Event of the Year, for “As She’s Walking Away” (with Alan Jackson).

5: Number one singles

The band has recorded four studio albums and have charted EIGHT #1 singles. They are: “Chicken Fried”, “Toes”, “Highway 20 Ride”, “Free”, “As She’s Walking Away”, “Colder Weather”, “Knee Deep” and “Keep Me In Mind”. “Whatever It Is” peaked at #2.

6: Hit the road, Zac

Zac Brown attended the University of West Georgia where his love of music really took off. His band at the time broke up, but after 9/11 Brown quit school and decided to hit the road full-time.

7: Southern Ground

Zac Brown has his very own record label, Southern Ground Artists, which has signed acts such as Sonia Leigh, The Wood Brothers, and Blackberry Smoke.

8: Million sellers

Their debut album, “The Foundation” has sold over 2 million copies, not a small feat, and their second release, “You Get What You Give” sold over 1 million copies.

9: Southern cooking

Zac opened a southern-style cooking restaurant with his father, and used the club to perform in early on, over the weekend, along with their other gigs.

10: Heavy metal, leather, and children

As if the record label wasn’t enough, Zac also oversees a full-production metal shop, leather artistry shop and camp for children (opening in 2014).


The bandmembers (Zac Brown, Coy Bowles, Clay Cook, Jimmy De Martini, Chris Fryar, and John Dirskell Hopkins) are nominated for Vocal Group of the Year at the upcoming 47th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards, which are set to take place on Sunday, April 1.

Read more about the 2012 Academy of Country Music Awards.

See the full list of 2012 ACM Award nominees, and read more nominee profiles.

Watch the Academy of Country Music Awards live on Sunday, April 1 at 8pm ET (delayed PT) on CBS.

More From BUZ'N @ 102.9

Get The App
Vote Your Top Songs!

Listen Live